What they're saying about THE DOLLAR MELTDOWN...


book endorcements 1
 

 

 

George C. Leef, THE FREEMAN, November 25, 2010

When the stock market plunged and financial markets hit the panic button in September 2008, President Bush asked his advisers, "How did we get here?" Goyette provides an explanation that even an airhead politician should be able to understand.

Our political and media elites, confused and desperate over the economic debacle, advanced the notion that the culprit was "deregulation." Goyette gives that self-serving falsehood the back of his hand, showing that the problem was rooted in massive government intervention in the economy, with meddling in the housing market most prominent. He has a great talent for colorful analogies, writing, "Like pirates whose fake lighthouses drew hapless ships to plunder, political pirates distort otherwise self-regulating economic activity with laws and regulations aimed at winning favor among specific beneficiaries." Politicians—and Goyette correctly holds both major parties to be equally guilty—make off with the booty of campaign support, special interest groups enjoy the subsidies and other favors bestowed by the politicians, and the rest of us suffer the harm.

... Another excellent feature of The Dollar Meltdown is the way it disabuses readers of the foolish notion that the government does all its spending and inflating for the good of the people. Consider this sentence: "Ultimately the survival of the government and the governing classes (at least in the reckoning of those in charge) trumps the resilience of the economy and the well-being of the people." Devastatingly accurate.

-- Read More HERE

 

THE INTELLECTUAL CONSERVATIVE, Steven D. Laib

Those of us who listen to Conservative talk radio or financial programming have all heard the advertising for the various gold and silver dealers who loudly trumpet their wares and their predictions.   Goyette counters this last problem with solid advice.   He properly explains what to buy and why, as well as what to avoid.   He provides options for the average person and makes it understandable so that someone could walk into a reputable discount broker and make sense of what is available.

... All things considered The Dollar Meltdown is good, entertaining and easily understandable reading.   For someone who is concerned about protecting their wealth in these troubled times it provides an excellent starting point as well as an occasional reference.

-- Read More HERE

 

THE LONELY CONSERVATIVE, November 9, 2010  

The release of the updated paperback edition of Charles Goyette's The Dollar Meltdown couldn't be more timely. I just got off the phone with Mr. Goyette. The first thing I asked about was Federal Reserve Chairman Ben Bernanke's plan to spend an additional $900 billion  on Treasury Bonds, the plan known as "Quantitative Easing II" (QE2). Goyette calls it an "absolute disaster." He said it's nothing more than a wealth transfer to Wall Street, from the rest of us.

... Goyette believes Rep. Ron Paul is right in his quest to "end the Fed." I told him that many on our side argue that we can't do away with the Federal Reserve because we don't have anything to replace it with. Goyette scoffed at such a notion, saying that since the Federal Reserve was created 98 years ago, 94% of the dollar's purchasing power has been destroyed, and that we've had the worst inflation and depressions in history. He likened it to a family business. If your family business was run by a management company that destroyed 94% of its value, would you say "Well, we can't find new managers!"?

-- Read More HERE

 

NOISYROOM.net, by Terresa Monroe-Hamilton.  November 13, 2010 

The Dollar Meltdown by Charles Goyette provides a fascinating look into America's financial collapse.... He gives you a practical plan for protecting yourself, your family and your investments from the all but inevitable fall of the dollar and a worldwide monetary collapse.

Taking a journey through the complexities of America's financial trials that has brought her to the precipice of financial ruin, Goyette lays out our government's part in our economy's downfall. Disparaging of Keynesian theory and instead steeped in the flawless logic of Hayek's Austrian perspective of economics, he shows the progression of doomed economic policies that have lead to our current crises. You'll see the history of our currency and enjoy an in-depth analysis of money and how it functions today in America. Fiat currency is a subject every American should be able to understand and discuss intelligently.

-- Read More HERE

 

Gerald Celente, Trends Research Institute

"A comprehensive and clear-eyed depiction of how the US dollar ended up losing almost 100% of its value on the Fed's watch, and how Washington enabled the theft.   By outlining likely scenarios and identifying alternative currencies and investment strategies, Charles Goyette has written an economic survival manual for the everyman, filled with  practical information on protecting your assets during the coming dollar unwind."

 

Randy Radic, Silver Monthly, May 7, 2010 

The Dollar Meltdown is definitely a gloom and doom book.  Fortunately, the author's style of writing and enthusiasm for his subject – how to avoid the doom – keep the book from being depressing.  Charles Goyette – the author – simply tells it like it is.  And what it is, is a sad state of affairs.  Goyette's presentation is composed of four parts:  where we are; how we got here; what happens next; and what to do.

Under the heading of 'where we are,' Goyette points out that "the future of the dollar has already been determined."  For all intents and purposes, the dollar is dead.  It has lost "96 percent of its purchasing power under the Federal Reserve System's mismanagement." 

Read the entire review HERE 
 
 
Patrick Krey, The New American, April 15, 2010
 
Goyette's years on talk radio have served him well, as he is able to effectively communicate complex and challenging topics for a wide audience. His ability to keep things interesting and entertaining for the reader helps as he summarizes the history of fiat currencies, global empires, and the worsening U.S. predicament. "Such episodes are so frequent in history, they should not need retelling and the economics of unsound money should not need to be repeatedly reexperienced. But such lessons are seemingly never learned and so are replayed again and again. Sometimes the consequences are experienced in a more or less severe manner, but it is the same notes, only played in a different octave." Through anecdotal examples and witty analysis, The Dollar Meltdown is a much more readable book than others on a similar subject. It is informative but also keeps the reader engrossed enough to keep turning the pages. There are many amusing quotes and a few of his most memorable ones will stick with you after you're done.

That is not to say the book is light-hearted. If anything, it's a massive downer, as it takes a sober look at what lies ahead. America is on a collision course with bankruptcy. The Federal Reserve Notes we currently exchange as money are IOUs that our national leaders have overextended beyond the point of no return. "America's national government has moved way beyond a political spoils system…. It has become a piñata: everybody gets a crack at it…. But the piñata does not survive the party. It is bashed to bits." 
 
Read the entire review HERE 
 
 
Arkady, Right Condition, January 1, 2010
 
Charles Goyette's recent book The Dollar Meltdown is a fascinating book offering not only a thorough and comprehensive analysis of America's financial crisis but a common sense approach in how to protect yourself from the inevitable collapse of our currency.

... The Dollar Meltdown is a unique and valuable book, offering the complexities of economics in order to explain where we are and how we got here while presenting investment strategies for those people interested in taking control of their financial feature.  If you prefer eating glass over reading economic text or think Wall St. is a prerequisite before making investments, then this book is a must read for you and your family.

Read the entire review at RightCondition.com HERE  
 
 
Marc Gallagher, Liberty Maven, December 22, 2009 
 
When I happen upon a book or movie review I usually skip down to the final paragraph because I don't really care about all the preliminaries. I just want to know the conclusion; therefore, I'm starting this review with my conclusion. Drop everything and start reading Charles Goyette's "The Dollar Meltdown: Surviving the Impending Currency Crisis with Gold, Oil, and Other Unconventional Investments".

Now I'll go into the preliminaries. Goyette gives up the goods in a methodical way. The book is divided into four sections: "Where we are", "How we got here", "What happens next", and "What to do"....  HERE

 
 
Ron Smith, The Baltimore Sun, December 11, 2009 
 
"The Dollar Meltdown" by Charles Goyette deals with the looming financial crisis we see unfolding all around us every day. He predicts the coming collapse of the dollar, tells us how we got to this point, what's likely to happen and, best of all, how to safeguard your own assets as the currency storm strikes.  HERE
 
 
BusinessPundit.com., November 19, 2009 
 
Charles Goyette has spent much of his life thinking about money. He has contemplated how it works, how governments manipulate it, and how it stores value.

Goyette, a radio show host, precious metals pro, and libertarian, shares his views on fate of the US dollar in "The Dollar Meltdown." In his four-part book, Goyette details where the US economy and dollar are now, how we got here, what might happen next, and how to protect your money.

The topics Goyette presents are necessary reading for anyone wanting a well-rounded perspective on the current US economy. Even if you don't agree with some of Goyette's strong libertarian viewpoints, his colorful writing and factual anecdotes make "The Dollar Meltdown" an interesting read.

As its cover might imply, "The Dollar Meltdown" isn't a gentle introduction to the collapse of the dollar. Libertarians and Austrian school aficionados would feel most at ease with this book . Refreshingly, the nonpartisan author implicates both Democrats and Republicans as fiscal and monetary ne'er do gooders.

Goyette says "the body economic is shuddering from the relentless compulsions of meddlers."

Read the entire review at BusinessPundit.com HERE
 
 
John Rubino, Editor, DollarCollapse.com, November 18, 2009 
 
Charles Goyette is a veteran radio guy and sound money advocate who supported Ron Paul before it was fashionable. Now he's written his first book, The Dollar Meltdown, and from beginning to end it's a pleasant surprise. Goyette writes as smoothly as he speaks and his perspective is unapologetically libertarian. So he gets it right on both content and delivery.

As you'd expect with a talk show host, he's comfortable with polemics:
 
America's national government has moved way beyond a political spoils system. A spoils system leaves the host alive so that a politician's occasional ne'er-do-well brother-in-law can be put on the payroll. America has become a piñata: everybody gets a crack at it. Presidents and other elected officials pass the big stick around as a reward to those who help keep them in charge of the piñata party. The American media plays the role of the party's mariachi bank, keeping festive spirits high. And the people in their demographic and interest groups all line up to take a whack at the goodies. America has become a piñata.

But he also does a good job of laying out the substantive argument for a currency crisis. Readers, for instance, find out that with the explosion of government borrowing and unfunded liabilities, U.S. debt now totals $1.3 million per family of four.
 
Read the entire review at DollarCollapse.com HERE
 
 
Michael Nystrom, Editor, DailyPaul.com, November 9, 2009
 
 "My entire life has been lived during a period of declining American living standards."
 
The Dollar Meltdown puts America's decline it into a sweeping context that makes our collective outcome impossible to ignore: Plunging living standards, a steadily eroding currency and massive inflation in a nation that has lost its industrial base. If you think things are bad now, they're only going to get worse. To quote Goyette: (p.9)

Gold's recent advances signal that we are in a period of major transition now. The American dollar's role as the world's reserve currency is inherently unstable and the signs of a breakdown are all around. Just as the monetary authorities have been unable to reinflate the high-tech bubble or the real estate bubble, when the dollar bubble is finally burst, no other paper currency will be able to take its place.

Read the entire review at DailyPaul.com HERE
 
Mish's Global Economic Trend Analysis, November 9, 2009

The Dollar Meltdown: Book Review

I had the pleasure of reading a final finished copy of The Dollar Meltdown by Charles Goyette this past week.

Congressman Ron Paul offers an opinion on the front cover to which I certainly concur: "Goyette does a great job explaining why America faces a looming financial crisis and outlines commonsense strategies for individuals to protect themselves and their families. This book truly is a must read."

Before publication, I read a preliminary copy which explains this quote on the back jacket "The Dollar Meltdown is the definitive guide to where we are, how we got here, and what the best investment opportunities are looking ahead, regardless of one's personal views on the raging inflation/deflation debate" - Mike "Mish" Shedlock

Others on the back jacket endorsing the book include Jim Rogers, Lew Rockwell, and Peter Schiff.

Step by step Goyette outlines Where we are, How we got here, and What to do. The book is a nice blend of facts, humor, and practicality. It is easy reading and very difficult to put down.

Each chapter begins with a few thought provoking quotes on which Charles expounds. Here is the kickoff to Chapter 7, How It Comes Down .
"Don't ask me where we're going to find the money. I'm going to get it where Paulson found it". - Charles Rangel, House Ways and Means Committee Chairman

Today was Presidents' Day. Congress commemorated George Washington's throwing a dollar across the Potomac by throwing $780 billion down a rat hole. - Jay Leno, The Tonight Show
 
Chapter 8, Toppling the Dollar, Your New World Order Is Waiting! begins with the following quotes for discussion.
"We have in many ways humiliated ourselves as a nation with some of the problems that have taken place here." - Henry Paulson, U.S. Treasury Secretary

"I think there is a question mark over the durability of any power that relies as heavily as the United States on importing capital and borrowing from abroad." - Niall Ferguson
 
I started to write more excerpts but the problem was I ended up with pages from every chapter.

Doug French writing for LewRockwell.Com had this to say:
 
"Charles Goyette provides a roadmap for survival with his newly released book, The Dollar Meltdown: Surviving The Impending Currency Crisis With Gold, Oil, And Other Unconventional Investments. The former Phoenix radio talk-show host has learned from some of the brightest minds in economics and investing. It's the rare book that engagingly teaches sound economic theory, provides the history of how we got in this mess and then provides solid investment advice that considers the precarious times we live in. As ambitious as this sounds Goyette's fast-paced book gets it all done."
At first glance it may seem that Goyette's opinion and mine on the US dollar are dramatically different. However, I would like to point out that he gives no timeline for the collapse, only that a collapse will eventually occur if the US stays on this economic path. That is an idea I hope everyone agrees with.

Monday Night, 10 p.m. PST. Charles will be on Coast to Coast AM George Noory to discuss his book and the coming currency crisis. The program will be broadcast live in every major city in the country. Please click here for a list of Coast To Coast Affiliate Stations .

George Noory is a fabulous talk show host as is Charles Goyette himself. This is one interview you will not want to miss.
 
LewRockwell.com, November 2, 2009

The current investment climate is more perilous than ever. The Federal Reserve's balance sheet continues to grow stuffed with the dubious paper purchased from the too-big-to-fail banks that are now wards of the state. The music stopped and there were no chairs, but the Fed and the Treasury snapped their fingers and trillions of dollars later the chairs appeared, the band played on and the banks live on. The taxpayers are now the not-so-proud owners of AIG, General Motors, Fannie and Freddie and dozens of banks. Where did the money come from? Out of thin air.

Every paper currency in history eventually reaches its intrinsic value – zero – and the Fed's Ben Bernanke is doing all he can to see that the dollar becomes worthless sooner rather than later. As Marc Faber told an investment conference crowd recently, Zimbabwe's serial inflator Robert Mugabe is Bernanke's mentor.

Investors live in the here and now. We can't pick what our investment climate will be. If only we could live our lives with the market deciding what money is and 100-percent reserve banks protected our money on deposit. No such luck. The financial waters are treacherous and we must navigate them.

Charles Goyette provides a roadmap for survival with his newly released book, The Dollar Meltdown: Surviving The Impending Currency Crisis With Gold, Oil, And Other Unconventional Investments. The former Phoenix radio talk-show host has learned from some of the brightest minds in economics and investing. It's the rare book that engagingly teaches sound economic theory, provides the history of how we got in this mess and then provides solid investment advice that considers the precarious times we live in. As ambitious as this sounds Goyette's fast-paced book gets it all done.

The author brings the reader up to speed writing about the bailouts and the nation's debt. After explaining why gold has been the market's choice for money for thousands of years, he writes about every saver and investor's nightmare – inflation – using the modern example of Mugabe's Zimbabwe, a once prosperous nation reduced to a Stone Age economy with the continuous printing of paper money. Everyone is a billionaire but nobody can buy anything.

Goyette looks to Murray Rothbard to explain the history of America's Federal Reserve and fractional reserve banking, and to Ludwig von Mises to see what the crack-up boom might look like. He makes the poignant point that hyper-inflation is not just something engendered in banana republics. Israel experienced triple-digit price inflation in the late 1970s and early 1980s.

Every once in a while dissatisfaction with the dollar makes the news, most recently with super model Gisele Bündchen demanding to be paid in euros rather than dollars. But the Brazilian bombshell was not the first. Goyette writes that Bette Midler demanded gold Krugerrands to perform overseas in the 1970's. No doubt the Devine Miss M was influenced by then manager and boyfriend Aaron Russo.

Ultimately inflation leads to a state-controlled economy and America is headed that way, evidenced by Washington picking which businesses survive and which are left to fail, not to mention how much executives – high level and low – can be paid. So what's a person to do? There is no academic hemming and hawing with Goyette and don't be looking for stock tips. The author suggests investing in real things and he especially likes the yellow metal. What's especially valuable is the primer he provides for buying physical gold – something that many people ask about.

All the other ways of investing in gold are addressed along with a separate discussion about silver. Goyette knows the whole energy independence chatter is nonsense and spends a chapter discussing what the world will not be living without in our lifetimes – oil.

Specifics are provided on how to invest in other commodities and what to invest in to take advantage of the coming bond market crash. Goyette's explanation of how volatility can eat up an investment in leveraged funds is especially helpful as well as his tip about TIPS.

For readers who want more information, the author's suggested readings at the end of the book will arm investors with ongoing market and economic knowledge.

At the book's end Goyette's sadness of America's loss of liberty is evident. He worries what will become of this country's prosperity and freedoms. But he doesn't waste time urging his readers to write their congressmen or elect the right people. It's too late for that. Protect your assets, get out of the dollar.

Doug French is president of the Ludwig von Mises Institute and associate editor for Liberty Watch Magazine . He is the author of Early Speculative Bubbles & Increases in the Money Supply .

 

Freedom's Phoenix, October 27, 2009

This Thursday, October 29, 2009, marks the release of a new book I highly recommend.  If you have woken up to the feeling that something is terribly wrong with our economy, especially your economy.  The main stream media is daily rushing to assure you that the worst is over and your life is getting better.  If you want to know what is really happening to your savings, your earnings, your pensions and your country then don't walk, RUSH out and buy the new book, The Dollar Meltdown !   Written in easily understood prose, author and radio talk show host Charles Goyette presents his case on what is happening to the U.S. dollar, why it is happening, who is responsible and most importantly how you can survive it.

Charles Goyette brings three things to the table to devastate politicians and so called "bankers."  First his wonderful organizational and  communication skills that have served him well as both an orator and a writer.  Second, his fantastic memory that pulls together decades of reports on governmental and corporate theft that has built up into the mess we inevitably will be forced to now live through.  Third, his lifelong honest pursuit of the facts and at personal cost his willingness to stand against the lying politicians and corporate heads who only want to mislead people away from the truth of their looting....

Powell Gammill, Editor.  Read the entire review HERE

 

FoxBusiness, October 9, 2009

For most traders, gold's surge upward has been directly tied to the downward spiral of the dollar. The U.S. Dollar Index, which tracks the dollar against a basket of major currencies, has fallen 13.7% from the early March lows, while gold has gained 11.1% in the same period.

The dollar has weakened primarily on investor concerns that the U.S. government has taken on too much debt – a record $1.4 trillion in the 2009 fiscal year alone, the non-partisan Congressional Budget Office said Wednesday.  Combining this year's deficits with the previous years, the national debt now stands at more than $11.9 trillion.

For some investors, those enormous deficits are reason enough to put some money into hard assets like gold and other precious metals.

"The market is coming to a realization that both parties are unable to restrain spending, and that's going to only lead to a weak U.S. dollar in our future," said Charles Goyette, author of an upcoming book "The Dollar Meltdown."

The specter of inflation also concerns some investors, leading them into hard assets.

 
 
Boston Herald, October 8, 2009

"...Charles Goyette, author of the forthcoming book "The Dollar Meltdown," said the long-term trend points to strong gold prices, if only because the U.S. dollar is now so weak and other nations are questioning the long-term use of the dollar as the effective international reserve currency."

 
Kiplinger newsletter wags finger at "The Dollar Meltdown" and other dollar critics; Charles responds!
 
FINANCE NEWSLETTER SAYS "STAND BY YOUR BUCK; DON'T LISTEN TO DOLLAR CRITICS," AT SAME TIME WORLD BANK FACES DOLLAR REALITY: It "would be mistaken to take for granted the dollar's place as the world's predominant currency."


Jeffrey R. Kosnett, Kiplinger.com: "Some critics of the greenback, including those who breathlessly hawk gold (after it's already soared in price) and authors of books with such titles as The Dollar Meltdown, are plainly promoting their own interests. But it's also common to see references to the sick buck in mainstream investment advisories. For example, Larry Adam, chief U.S. investment strategist for Deutsche Bank Alex. Brown, recently cited the grim outlook for the dollar as a reason to invest aggressively in Asia and in U.S. tech and industrial companies (the latter group because a weakened dollar would make their products more attractive to overseas buyers)."
 
Charles Goyette's letter to Kosnett:

Jeffrey R. Kosnett
Senior Editor
Kiplinger's Personal Finance

Dear Mr. Kosnett

Thank you for taking note of my book The Dollar Meltdown: Surviving the Impending Currency Crisis with Gold, Oil, and Other Unconventional Investments, forthcoming in late October from Portfolio/Penguin.

By including me as a dollar critic along with those who "breathlessly hawk gold," you suggest to your readers that I am "plainly promoting" my own interest. If you are referring to a solvent government and a sound monetary system, I trust you mean promoting our mutual interest. If that is not your meaning, I would like to assure you that I do not sell gold or have any interest in any company that does. Nor do I have any such interest in the sale of oil, natural resources, agricultural commodities or the other vehicles I recommend for weathering an inevitable currency crisis.

Best wishes,

Charles Goyette
Author, The Dollar Meltdown
TheDollarMeltdown.com